ADVERTISEMENT

Class of 2013: defensive positions

ksayles

Gold Member
Jun 23, 2011
Taking a look at the Class of 2013 defensive positions[/B]

Kaelyn Sayles

For the past few weeks, I've been posting individual position breakdowns for the Class of 2013. Here's a complete breakdown of all the defensive positions signed for the newest class in Washington football.

Defensive line[/B]: [/B]

Washington head football coach Steve Sarkisian said after National Signing Day that on defense, bigger, faster and more athletic was key for their program.

Let's see how they did.

Defensive tackles…

Quick hits on the new Dawgs:[/I]

Andrew Bashum[/B] - 6-4/305. Recruited out of Lynnwood (Bothell) High School. "He's got a nasty streak to him that was unique, "Sarkisian said. "Great for us to get a local kid here with these talents."

Bio sketch from UW media[/I]: "Named to the Washington all-state team (all levels) by USA Today following senior season…earned first-team All-WesCo 3A honors on both the offensive and defensive lines as a junior…listed as the No. 4 prospect in the state of Washington and the No. 46 defensive tackle recruit in the county by scout.com…listed as a "white chip" recruit by the Seattle Times…as a junior, won the 3A state championship in the shotput with a throw of 55 feet, 7 inches…earned first-team All-WesCo for the track team as a sophomore and junior…took fourth in the state in the shot as a sophomore…played for coach Adam Fermstad as a senior at Lynnwood."

Elijah Qualls[/B] - 6-2/285. Recruited out of Casa Grande High School in Petaluma, Calif. Sarkisian described him as a "very athletic young man." He said that Qualls will be used as an interior defensive lineman, but when he gets one-on-one matchups, that will be a big key for us (the program) to develop that aspect of the game.