ADVERTISEMENT

Class of 2013: offensive positions

ksayles

Gold Member
Jun 23, 2011
Taking a look at the Class of 2013 offensive positions[/B]

Kaelyn Sayles

For the past few weeks, I've been posting individual position breakdowns for the Class of 2013. Here's a complete breakdown of all the offensive positions signed for the newest class in Washington football.

Offensive line[/B]:[/B]

The offensive line protects the quarterback. It protects the pass. It protects the rush.

Washington head football coach Steve Sarkisian said this will always be a position of emphasis, and this year was no different.

"Our sheer numbers on the offensive line are not bad," Sarkisian said. "We lost one player this year in graduation in Drew Schaefer. We brought in three."

These three - center Dane Crane, tackle Andrew Kirkland and tackle Coleman Shelton - hit the Dawgs' needs at the position.

The Washington coaching staff didn't reach late on offensive line recruits because they weren't concerned with the numbers. Instead, they stayed true to who they wanted.

"I feel great about these guys," Sarkisian said. "We got a center and two tackles, and that was the emphasis for us. It wasn't the guard play at all."

Through various factors, especially injury, the youth of the offensive line last season was made painfully apparent. Sarkisian acknowledged this issue of youth as the biggest for the offensive line.

With only one lineman gone, the three new players will be joining a group that has some experience under their belts.

Quick hits on the new Dawgs:[/I]